Heart chakra

Chakra (energy vortex), is a sanskrit word that means ‘a spinning disc’ or ‘a wheel.’ There are seven major of these energy connections in the subtle body through which the life force (prana) or vital energy moves. Chakras attract healthy energy for us to absorb, and throws off negative energy that we no longer need. The healthier the chakra is, the more energy we attract.

Heart Chakra (Anahata, in Sanskrit) is the 4th chakra, located in the centre of the chest. Since this lies in the center, it helps in balancing the whole body by linking all the other chakras. It is associated with feelings of Unconditional love, forgiveness and compassion. If we have a healthy balanced heart chakra then we are able to give and receive love easily.

Symbolic Meaning

The symbolic meaning of ‘Heart chakra’ is to “Let Go and Let God’; which means accepting that “everything and everyone is part of divine plan”, and thus seeing it with love and compassion. All the issues related to Unconditional Love, Self Love, Forgiveness, Relationships, Devotion, Depression, Loneliness are related to the issues of Heart Chakra.

Balanced heart chakra is characterized by feelings of Compassion, Love, Balanced, Self love, Peace, having good Immune system

Unbalanced Heart Chakra is characterized by feelings of being demanding, jealous, having poor boundaries, overly sacrificing, possessive (Excess); and being antisocial, cold, shy, judgmental, lonely, fear of intimacy or relationships, lack of empathy, bitterness (Deficient).

 At Emotional level, heart chakra affects emotions of love, compassion, despair, hate, envy, fear

At Physical level, it affects Heart & Circulatory system, Lungs, Shoulders, arms & hands, thymus glands, Diaphragm. Thus Physical dysfunctions may include Disorders of heart, lungs, thymus, breasts, arms, asthma, allergy, circulatory system (blood related diseases), immune system deficiency and tension between shoulders.

Self-test for heart chakra

Before we go towards healing our heart chakra, we can do self test below:-

•        Do you have difficulty accepting yourself the way you are or lack self-love?

•        Do you have difficulty accepting others as they are?

•        Are you experiencing a lack of freedom in your life?

•        Do you keep anger or grudges against others?

•        Do you have difficulty making up your mind and find yourself indecisive?

•        Are you always saying “yes” to other people’s demands and requests?

•        Do you fear rejection or being abandoned by other people?

•        Do you feel jealous and find yourself envious of others?

Daily affirmations to heal and balance the heart chakra

•        I Love and Accept myself.

•        I am worthy of receiving the love of God and others.

•        The universe provides me with unconditional love.

•        I practice compassion, acceptance, and forgiveness daily for myself and others.

•        I accept people as they are and easily forgive them as I do to myself.

•        I let go of feeling of anger, fear, hatred, guilt and being a victim. 

•        I am able to appreciate & express gratitude for what I already have.



Colors play a major role or you can say an important part in our lives. Colors have the power to change our life pattern by affecting our emotions. Someone has rightly said “Your life is like a blank canvas, you have the choice to make into a beautiful & colorful painting.”

Colors reflect our personality & influence our mood to great extent.
Have you ever noticed the day when you dressed right & in a beautiful color, you feel so much confident, energetic & enthusiastic? Just by changing the color of your dress one can feel the shift in the attitude, that in it explains that how much important colors can be.

Eating variety of fruits & vegetables of all different colors & wearing different colors can really make a difference.
You must be wondering how different colors can that keep you healthy.

Here’s the answer.

Our body has 7 major chakras. The Chakras, is the name given to the seven main energy centers of our body. These Chakras regulate the energy flow throughout our bodies.
Every sense, feeling and experience is connected to a specific chakra. When we are stressed about something, the chakra itself can become unbalanced and this manifests itself as illness in our physical body.Our bodies are dependant on light and it acts as a prism. Sun which we all know as major source of energy ,when shines into our body, the ‘white’ light creates the rainbow colors which is divided equally into the seven main chakras or energy centers of the body.

As long as our Chakras are balanced & energized, we remain healthy & fit. Our chakras can also be represented in Beautiful color of Rainbow – VIBGYOR

V – Violet that represents Crown Chakra
I – Indigo that represents Third Eye Chakra
B – Blue that represents Throat Chakra
G – Green that represents Heart Chakra
Y – Yellow that represents Solar Plexus Chakra
O – Orange that represents Sacral Chakra
R – Red that represents Root Chakra

So it is very important that we keep our chakras balanced. This can be done through visualization exercise. Even 5 minutes of daily practice of balancing our chakra can keep us healthy.

Exercise –
Sit in a relaxed position.
Visualize Golden light of God is filling your body.
Imagine that golden light in each & every organ & to each & every cell of your body. You would feel your senses would calm & your body would start feeling relaxed.
Release any stress or tension that you would be carrying in any part.
Talk to your body & send love to it.
Now once you feel that your body is totally relaxed, imagine the colors one by one & start filling your body with these beautiful colors of rainbow: Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange, and Red.
While you are doing it with each color, imagine that that particular chakra is being balanced.
Even if you find difficult to visualize, just feel that it is being done.
Feel calm, relaxed, happy & content in the whole process.

Thus having wide range of colors in our lives whether it is our wardrobe or our food, can help us keep healthy.
So don’t stick to one color, experiment with all shades of colors & feel the difference in your mood & your health.
Paint your life with colors that you want to fill with.